Recommendations for the Agriculture of Tomorrow

German Cabinet names Technical University of Munich’s Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Vera Bitsch as one of the scientific members of the Commission for the Future of Agriculture

The German Cabinet instated the Commission for the Future of Agriculture on July 8, 2020, and tasked it with developing recommendations for a productive and resource-conserving agriculture. The goal is to combine animal welfare, biodiversity, and the protection of the climate and the environment with secure yields and economic viability. One of the six scientists on the commission is Prof. Vera Bitsch from the Technical University of Munich.

The German Cabinet named Prof. Vera Bitsch as one of the scientific members of the Commission for the Future of Agriculture. (Picture: A. Eckert / TUM)

“I feel honored to be part of this distinguished group and look forward to contributing my knowhow and experience. It is especially important to me that we will be developing new ideas for a more sustainable common future”, says Prof. Vera Bitsch. Vera Bitsch is Professor of the Economics of Horticulture and Landscaping. The professorship is located at both the TUM School of Management and the TUM School of Life Sciences Weihenstephan. She conducts research in the fields of agricultural economics and agribusiness management. In 2010, she joined the Technical University of Munich (TUM) as full professor and ordinaria for the Chair of Economics of Horticulture and Landscaping. In addition, Prof. Bitsch currently serves in numerous professional and honorary functions, including as president of the German Society for Horticultural Science and as Managing Editor for International Food and Agribusiness Management Review.

The commission is charged with contributing to an ecologically, economic, and socially sustainable agriculture that is accepted by society in a time of increasing expectations and continuing price consciousness. Members of the commission include ten representatives of agricultural associations, eight representatives of industry associations and consumer groups, seven representatives of environmental and animal welfare organizations, as well as six scientists from the fields of agriculture and the environment. The commission will be chaired by Prof. Dr. Peter Strohschneider who served as President of German Research Foundation until December 31, 2019.

Related News in this category


Do you have further questions on our services or need additional Information about school? Take a look at our Frequently Asked Questions. If you still can’t find what you are looking for, you can also send us your inquiry by means of our contact form. We will get back to you as soon as possible.

Postal Address
Technical University of Munich
TUM School of Management
Arcisstraße 21
80333 Munich

Visiting Address
TUM Main Campus
Building 0505
Campus Roomfinder